LWUA to Spend P868-M to Build Systems for Non-Operational Water Districts

Quezon City-The Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA) has announced that it will spend P868 million for water infrastructure development projects to activate ninety-four currently non-operational water districts to enable them to provide piped potable drinking water supply to some 246,000 people in their areas within the year.

LWUA Board Chairman Prospero A. Pichay, Jr. said the projects to activate the non-operational water districts is part of the PGMA administration's legacy program to provide safe water supply to all barangays by 2010.

Pichay said another P447 million has been earmarked under the same DOH-LWUA locally funded investment program for the construction of potable water systems for the so-called waterless municipalities within the area of responsibility of LWUA.

This is on top of the P500 million fund from the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) under the Presidential Priority Program on Water (P3W), P69 million of which have already been released to LWUA for other waterless municipalities as earlier identified by the National Anti-Poverty Commission or NAPC, Pichay added.

LWUA Administrator Orlando C. Hondrade said funds for these projects to activate the non-operational water districts, many of which established in the 80s and the 90s yet but have remained inactive due to the lack or inadequacy of water systems, are included in the P1.5 Billion Locally Funded Investment Program under the CY 2009 Budget of the Department of Health (DOH).

In July last year, President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo placed LWUA as an attached agency under the DOH in line with the government's program of improving public health through the adequate provision of safe drinking water supply and sanitation facilities.

Hondrade said the projects for the non-operational water districts would primarily be the construction of their municipal-level water supply systems which would cost an average of about P9 million each. Works would include the harnessing and development of surface or groundwater sources, construction of pumping and storage or impounding facilities with provision for water treatment; laying of transmission and distribution pipelines and the installation of individual household metered service connections.

Target non-operational water districts include Magsingal, Santa, Santa Cruz, Sta. Maria and Sto. Domingo, all in Ilocos Sur; Caba in La Union; Dasul, Infanta and San Jacinto, all In Pangasinan in Region 1; Boliney, Bucay, Lacub, Luba, Manalo, Pidigan, San Juan, San Quintin and Tayum, all in Abra;Itogon, Benguet; Tabuk and Lubuagan in Kalinga; and Bontoc and Paracelis in Mt. Province in the Cordillera Autonomous Region; Alcala, Cagayan; Benito Soliven, Cabatuan, Delfin Albano, Diadi, Gamu and Luna, all in Isabela in Region 2; Sto. Domingo, Nueva Ecija, Arayat, pampanga and Botolan, Zambales in Region 3;

Mabitac, Magdalena and Sta. Maria, all in Laguna; Burdeos, Quezon; Jala Jala, Rizal; and Bansud and Victoria in Oriental Mindoro in Region 4; Piodoran, Albay; Pamplona, Buhi and Bula, all in Camarines Sur; Bagamanoc, Baras, Gigmoto and Panganiban, all in Catanduanes and San Jacinto, Masbate in Region 5; San Remigio, Antique; Sibunag, Guimaras; Guimbal, Lemery, San Dionisio and Tagbauan, all in Iloilo; and Isabela and San Enrique in Negros Occidental in Region 6; Balamban, Cebu in Region 7; and Dolores, Lawa-an, Llorente, Hernani, Mercedes, Oras and San Julian, all in Eastern Samar; Babatngon and La Paz, Leyte; Gandara, Samar; Allen and Mondragon, Nothern Samar; and Zumarraga, Western Samar in Region 8;

Labason, and Salug, Zamboanga del Norte; and Labangan, Lakewood and Mahayag, all in Zamboanga del Sur in Region 9; Cabanglasan and Quezon, Bukidnon; Kauswagan and Kolambogan in Lanao del Norte; and Aloran, Misamis Occidental in Region 10; Malalag, Davao del Sur and Malapatan, Saranggani in Region 11 and Cabadbaran, Magallanes and Tubay in Agusan del Norte; Alegria, Gigaquit and San Jose ( Dumagat Island) in Surigao del Norte; Cagwait, Carrascal, Lingig and san Miguel, all in Surigao del Sur, in Region 13.

Source: Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA)
Website: http://www.lwua.gov.ph/

  • Alternative Water Pump Technology - Water is life and our island is abundant of it. Yet we don't have running water in our households particularly in small barangays located in hilly areas.